Skip to content
LLDTEK

Blog/Guides

Best AI receptionist for appointment businesses

The right pick depends less on the voice than on whether it can write the visit into the book you already run.

Owen Hart

Owen Hart

Oct 27, 2026

A black rotary telephone, two glowing paper lanterns and a lit candle on a dark lacquered desk, with night rooftops and a snow-capped mountain beyond the open window

The best AI receptionist for an appointment business is the one that books into the calendar your staff already check out from. On Zenoti, Booksy or Jobber, try the receptionist your platform sells before anything else. On Google Calendar, Calendly or Acuity, Rosie's $149 Scale plan is the cleanest self-serve fit. Smith.ai suits a line that needs a person behind the software.

Every product here can answer a phone well enough to impress on a demo. For a salon, clinic, barbershop, studio, trade business or restaurant, the differences are where the booking lands, who takes over when the software is stuck, and how the bill counts your calls. Below are six questions, a table of twelve products, and a pick for each common setup, including when a separate receptionist is the wrong purchase.

LLDTEK wrote this guide, and LLDTEK is one of the twelve products in it. We sell managed AI agents to appointment businesses and do not publish a price, so our row has no number. Each fact about another vendor links to that vendor's own page, read on 27 October 2026. Plans and betas change quickly, so open the link on the day you decide.

Questions

Six questions that sort the list

Bookings land in one of three places. The first is a direct write into the system that holds your appointments. The receptionist checks one stylist's or practitioner's real availability in Zenoti, Booksy or Jobber and creates the appointment there with the right service length. Platform-built receptionists work this way because they already live inside the book.

The second is a write into a general scheduler such as Google Calendar, Calendly or Acuity. If that scheduler is your book, this is as good as the first, and our Lindy comparison shows where that holds for one person's calendar and where it breaks for a team's. If your real book is Square or Vagaro, you now run two calendars, and a Saturday slot sold on one still looks open on the other.

The third is a text with your booking link. Links never double-book, but they convert only as well as a client's attention at nine in the evening.

Ask every vendor which of the three you are buying, and on which plan.

The comparison table

Scroll sideways to compare every product.

ProductWhere bookings goChannelsHand-offLanguages namedBilling unit and entry price
RosieGoogle Calendar, Calendly, Acuity or Appointlet from Scale; a texted link on ProfessionalPhone, free website chatWarm and live transfer from Scale, waterfall on GrowthEnglish and SpanishPer minute. $49 for 250 min, $149 for 1,000 min with direct booking
GoodcallGoogle Calendar (plus Google Sheets and HighLevel); other systems need an API or MCP buildPhone; can send texts, cannot receive replies yetTransfers to people you chooseEnglishPer unique caller. $79 for 100
My AI Front DeskCalendars through ZapierPhone, web chat, two-way SMSCall transfer as an agent action"20+ languages"Per minute through credits. $99, or $79 billed annually, for 200 min
DialzaraCalendar sync from Business ProPhone; 100 website chat sessions a month free with a voice plan; SMS agent $19/mo plus $0.05 a messageBlind transfer on every plan, warm transfer from ProEnglish, with Spanish from ProPer minute. $29 for 60 min, $99 for 220 min
Smith.ai AI Receptionist"AI Scheduling (Calendly & more)"PhoneTransfer to a live receptionist in North AmericaNot stated on the AI pagePer call. Free for 25, Pro from $150 for 75
Booksy AI Receptionist (beta)Your Booksy calendarPhoneFlags the call and sends you a callback requestEnglish and SpanishFree for at least 12 months for the first 500 providers; later price not stated
Zenoti AI ReceptionistYour Zenoti bookVoice and textTransfers to a person on request or when neededNot statedQuote
Mindbody AI ConciergeYour Mindbody scheduleText and web chat, plus missed-call follow-upAlerts your team when it needs to jump inNot statedIncluded in the Ultimate plan
Square AssistantSquare Appointments, through replies to remindersSMSNot describedNot statedNot stated in the help article
Vagaro VeraInside VagaroNo phone answering describedNot describedNot stated"AI-powered business tools" included with every Vagaro plan
Jobber ReceptionistJobber calendar, through your Online Booking formCalls and textsEscalation rule texts or transfers to a team memberNot statedIncluded on Plus. Otherwise $29 for 30 conversations, then $0.79 each
LLDTEKVagaro, Square, Booksy, Zenoti, Mindbody, OpenTable or the book you runVoice, SMS and web chat in one threadStops and passes the full thread to your staffReplies in the language the client usedQuote after a 30-minute demo

Every competitor cell comes from the vendor pages under Sources, read on 2026-10-27. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the page we cite, not that the feature is missing.

What each independent product does well

Rosie is the simplest self-serve buy when your book already lives in one of the four schedulers its help centre names (Rosie scheduling, checked 2026-10-27). Watch the tier split on its pricing page: Professional at $49 texts a link, and direct booking starts at Scale for $149. Every plan answers in English and Spanish, with a seven-day trial. Our LLDTEK vs Rosie comparison covers its transfers.

Goodcall rewards a line where clients phone several times about one visit, as the worked example in Goodcall vs LLDTEK shows. It counts each number once a month and excludes spam and wrong numbers (goodcall.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-27). Its own booking connection is Google Calendar, and it answers in English only today (goodcall.com/how-it-works, checked 2026-10-27), so a Square or Vagaro book needs an API or MCP build.

My AI Front Desk puts voice, web chat and two-way SMS into one $99 plan and reaches calendars through Zapier (myaifrontdesk.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-27). A Zapier step between agent and book is one more place for a duration or staff assignment to slip, so test your longest service.

Dialzara has the lowest paid entry at $29 for 60 minutes. On the plan cards, calendar sync and Spanish start on the $99 Business Pro plan, which makes Lite a message-taker for a quiet English-only line (dialzara.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-27). Blind transfer to your team is on every plan, and warm transfer starts on Pro.

Smith.ai sells three products from one selector: Human-first live receptionists, a Hybrid where AI answers and a person takes the calls your preset picks, and the AI-first receptionist in our table. The AI plan is free for 25 calls, Pro starts at $150 for 75, and a complex call can move to a live receptionist in North America (Smith.ai AI pricing, checked 2026-10-27). Hybrid starts around $2.50 a call (Smith.ai Hybrid pricing, checked 2026-10-27). Per-call billing favours long intake calls over quick reschedules, as Smith.ai pricing explained shows for a small studio.

When the platform's own AI is enough

Zenoti's AI Receptionist answers missed and after-hours calls, books and reschedules "by voice or text", offers a reschedule before a cancellation, and transfers to a human when needed (Zenoti AI Receptionist, checked 2026-10-27). A spa or medspa group on Zenoti should get the quote and test it first.

Booksy's beta answers calls in English and Spanish, recognises regulars by phone number and books into your Booksy calendar. Booksy says it is free for at least 12 months for the first 500 providers. Appointments with No-Show Protection are not supported yet, and the page describes phone calls only (Booksy AI Receptionist beta, checked 2026-10-27). A solo barber who got a place and takes no deposits has little reason to look further.

Jobber's Receptionist handles calls and texts, books jobs through your Online Booking form, and sends urgent or sensitive calls to a team member by text or transfer. It is included on Plus and costs $29 a month for 30 conversations on other eligible plans, then $0.79 each (Jobber help centre, checked 2026-10-27). Because the add-on already lives inside Jobber's calendar, a cleaning or plumbing firm on Jobber should test it before any outside product, ours included.

Mindbody includes AI Concierge in its Ultimate plan. It books, reschedules and cancels over text and web chat and follows up on missed calls (Mindbody AI Concierge, checked 2026-10-27). The page does not describe answering by voice, so a studio whose clients text is covered and one whose clients ring during class is not.

Square and Vagaro are different. Square Assistant lets clients confirm, reschedule or cancel by replying to a reminder (Square Assistant help, checked 2026-10-27). Vagaro describes Vera as helping with promotions, filling your books and client messages (Vagaro feature recap, checked 2026-10-27), and lists AI tools as included in every plan (Vagaro pricing, checked 2026-10-27). Neither page describes picking up the business phone. Vagaro AI vs a dedicated AI receptionist covers that gap.

Which one fits your situation?

  • You run Zenoti, Booksy or Jobber. Test the built-in receptionist first, because an outside product has to beat it on your own calls.
  • You book in Google Calendar, Calendly or Acuity. Rosie Scale writes into the calendar you use and includes Spanish.
  • Regulars call two or three times about one visit. Goodcall charges each number once a month, provided its booker can reach your calendar.
  • You want a person behind the AI. Smith.ai's AI plan passes hard calls to its live staff, and Hybrid routes chosen call types to a person from the start.
  • You want phone, chat and SMS on one self-serve bill. My AI Front Desk covers all three if you are comfortable with Zapier.
  • You take a few short calls and only need messages. Dialzara Lite or Smith.ai's free plan will do, though neither writes to your book on that tier.
  • Your book is Square, Vagaro or OpenTable, several staff calendars and languages are in play, and the leak runs past the phone into empty slots and missed rebookings. That is the case LLDTEK is built for.

A composite example, invented from common setups rather than drawn from a customer, shows why the first question carries the weight. A four-chair barbershop books in Square. At ten to eight on a Thursday a client rings for a skin fade with his usual barber on Saturday. A link-sending receptionist texts him the booking page, which he means to open after dinner. A scheduler-based one books him into a Google Calendar the barbers never open, so Square still shows Saturday at eleven as free. Only a receptionist that writes into Square ends the call with the chair held.

How to test any of them before you pay

Give each shortlisted product thirty minutes with your own book open in another window. The full checklist is in What to test on an AI receptionist demo. The short version:

  1. Call as a client asking for your longest service with one named staff member on your busiest day.
  2. Open your booking system and confirm the appointment is there with the right length and person.
  3. Call back from the same number, move it, and check the original slot reopened.
  4. Ask the same question in your clients' second most common language.
  5. Raise a fee dispute and see whether, and how fast, a person on your team gets the conversation.

A product that passes all five on your own book is a sound buy at its published price, whoever makes it.

Where LLDTEK fits

LLDTEK runs five AI agents for appointment businesses: front desk, no-show recovery, rebooking, reviews and the live floor. They read and write the book you already run in Vagaro, Square, Booksy, Zenoti, Mindbody, OpenTable or another system, across voice, SMS and web chat as one conversation. When a request needs judgement, such as a VIP, a refund or something off the menu, the agent stops and passes the thread to your staff. Your desk person and checkout stay. The Square Appointments integration page shows what the agents see and do in one of those systems.

We set the agents up with you and watch a live day together before anyone is billed. There is no published price; you get a number after a thirty-minute demo against your own book. Rosie and Goodcall let you see the price and start tonight, and that is a fair point against us.

So the honest case for LLDTEK is narrow. If your platform's receptionist already answers and books well, keep it. If a self-serve plan writes cleanly into the calendar you use, buy that. We fit where a wrong booking is costly because several people keep their own calendars, services run to different lengths and callers speak more than one language, where your system has no receptionist of its own, and where the gap includes cancelled slots and next visits.

Questions

Questions owners ask before choosing

Square Assistant and Vera, as their own pages describe them, do not answer the business phone. None of the independent pricing pages we read names Square Appointments or Vagaro as a booking integration. During any trial, have the vendor book a test appointment into your account and open it yourself.

Sources

Rosie plans, direct-booking tier, transfers, languages and trial: Rosie pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Rosie's four named schedulers: Rosie scheduling integrations, checked 2026-10-27.

Goodcall plans, unique-caller counting, booker worker and transfers: Goodcall pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

My AI Front Desk plan, credits, channels, languages and Zapier calendars: My AI Front Desk pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Dialzara plans, transfers, SMS agent and chat: Dialzara pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Smith.ai AI tiers, scheduling, live transfer and product selector: Smith.ai AI pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Smith.ai Hybrid per-call pricing: Smith.ai Hybrid pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Booksy AI Receptionist channels, languages, offer and limits: Booksy AI Receptionist beta, checked 2026-10-27.

Zenoti AI Receptionist channels, booking and hand-off: Zenoti AI Receptionist, checked 2026-10-27.

Mindbody AI Concierge channels, booking and plan: Mindbody AI Concierge, checked 2026-10-27.

Square Assistant reminder replies: Square Assistant help, checked 2026-10-27.

Vagaro's description of Vera: Vagaro feature recap, checked 2026-10-27.

Vagaro's included AI tools: Vagaro pricing, checked 2026-10-27.

Jobber Receptionist channels, booking, escalation and pricing: Jobber help centre, checked 2026-10-27.

Updated Oct 27, 2026.

Next step

Thirty minutes against your book.

Bring last week’s no-shows and the POS you already run. If we are the wrong layer, we say so on the call. Numbers only if it is a fit.